Longest Running Broadway Shows

September 25, 2009

The longest running Broadway show is still running: The Phantom of the Opera has been running since January 26, 1988 and has produced an incredible 9,003 shows. The second longest running show is Cats, at 7485 shows.

In addition to The Phantom of the Opera, playing at the Majestic Theatre, there are five other shows still playing that are in the top 50:

  • Chicago is #7 with 5332 shows
  • The Lion King is #9 with 4917 shows
  • Mamma Mia! is #13 with 3280 shows
  • Wicked is #22 with 2438 shows
  • Jersey Boys is #43 with 1595 shows

Jersey Boys will move up the list quickly, since it’s less than 300 shows away from #32.

Here’s a list of the longest running Broadway shows, and here’s a list of currently running Broadway shows.


Multiple Oscar Winners

March 3, 2009

18 women have won multiple Oscars for Best Actress and/or Best Supporting Actress. Katharine Hepburn has won four. All were for Best Actress: Morning Glory in 1932/33; Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner in 1967, The Lion in Winter in 1968; and On Golden Pond in 1981.  Ingrid Bergman has won three. The other 16 women have each won two: Bette Davis, Olivia de Havilland, Sally Field, Jane Fonda, Jodie Foster, Helen Hayes, Glenda Jackson, Jessica Lange, Vivien Leigh, Luise Rainer, Maggie Smith, Meryl Streep, Hilary Swank, Elizabeth Taylor, Dianne Wiest and Shelley Winters.

Only two men have won more than two Oscars for acting, but 19 have won at least two. Walter Brennan and Jack Nicholson have each won three Oscars. The others who have won two Academy Awards are: Marlon Brando, Michael Caine, Gary Cooper, Daniel Day-Lewis, Robert De Niro, Melvyn Douglas, Gene Hackman, Tom Hanks, Dustin Hoffman,  Jack Lemmon, Sean Penn, Anthony Quinn, Jason Robards, Kevin Spacey, Spencer Tracy, Peter Ustinov and Denzel Washington.

Here’s more information on Academy Awards for Actors and Actresses and Academy Awards for Supporting Actors and Actresses.

Newbery and Caldecott Medals

August 17, 2008

The Newbery and Caldecott Medals are literary awards for Children’s literature. The Newbery, awarded since 1922, is for children’s literature, and the Caldecott, awarded since 1938, is awarded for illustrated picture books.

Only one person has won both awards. Robert Lawson won the Caldecott Medal in 1941 for They Were Strong and Good. He won the Newbery medal in 1945 for Rabbit Hill.