Newbery and Caldecott Medals

August 17, 2008

The Newbery and Caldecott Medals are literary awards for Children’s literature. The Newbery, awarded since 1922, is for children’s literature, and the Caldecott, awarded since 1938, is awarded for illustrated picture books.

Only one person has won both awards. Robert Lawson won the Caldecott Medal in 1941 for They Were Strong and Good. He won the Newbery medal in 1945 for Rabbit Hill.