World Series Game 7

October 28, 2011

Tonight will be the first time the World Series had a game 7 since 2002 when the Anaheim Angels beat the San Francisco Giants four games to three (4-3). In the last 10 years, including 2011, there have been seven games twice, six games twice, five games three times and a sweep of four games three times.

For more on World Series history, view iWeblistsHistory of World Series Games.


World Series facts

October 29, 2008

Since 1922, the World Series has been a “best of seven” event. In that time, there have been 17 4-0 shutouts, 17 4-1 series, 17 4-2 series and 33 4-3 series. Of the 102 World Series, 60 have been won by the American League team and 42 have been won by the National League team.

The Yankees have won 26 World Series, followed by the Cardinals with 10 and the Red Sox with 7. Combined, the Oakland Athletics and Philadelphia Athletics have won 9 times. The Phillies have won once (1980) and lost four times, and the Rays have never been in the series.

iWeblists has a sortable list of World Series Games and also of World Series winning teams.